Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Record 31 vie for 15 seats in Selangor DAP committee

KUALA LUMPUR: A record 31 candidates, including three MPs and 10 assemblymen, are contesting for seats in the Selangor DAP committee.

The MPs, Charles Anthony San–tiago (Klang), Teo Nie Ching (Ser–dang) and Tony Pua (Petaling Jaya Utara) are contesting for the first time to be among the 15 chosen on Sunday.

The state assemblymen include Cheah Wing Yin (Damansara Utama), Ean Yong Hian Wah (Seri Kembangan), Lau Weng San (Kg Tunku), Lee Ying Ha (Teratai) and M. Manoharan (Kota Alam Shah).

The others are Ng Suee Lim (Sekinchan), Philip Chan Choon Swee (Telok Datuk), Ronnie Liu Tian Khiew (Pandamaran), Teng Chang Khim (Sungai Pinang) and Hannah Yeoh Tseow Suan (Subang Jaya).

Party officials said there was more interest in the positions following the party’s recent success in the general election.

Puchong MP Gobind Singh Deo and Balakong state assemblyman Yap Lum Chin withdrew after filing their nominations.

The Selangor DAP convention will be opened by party secretary-general Lim Guan Eng at the Kelana Jaya Community Hall.

Besides Manoharan and Charles Anthony, another five Indians, M. Batumalai, T. Chandra Mohan, T. Kannan, M. Pulanthiran and S. Selvadurai, are also in the fray.

Kannan, who is fluent in Mandarin, is well known among the Chinese and Indian members in Selangor and is also a member of the state’s Pakatan Rakyat council.

No comments: